- About Us -
The King’s Arms with its irreplaceable heritage, is a unique combination of the old and the new, offering a refined blend of excellent food, acclaimed local beers, and a carefully selected choice of wines. All in the most stunning picturesque rural location.
The entire Pub is filled with history; the large, inglenook fireplace dominates the main bar along with flagged stone floors, and high ceilings which still have the original hooks used to hang riding tackle. A large painting of the Askrigg Friendly Society Bicentennial from 2009 has pride of place above the fireplace. The Friendly Society has traditionally held all meetings at the King’s Arms due to the first members, John and Joseph Lodge, buying the Pub in 1800.
Built in 1767 as a Coaching Inn, this Grade II listed building was owned by a local man called John Pratt, who made his fortune as a jockey at Newmarket, during which he secured the 1782 St Ledge with ‘Imperatix’. He was also a racehorse breeder, and Master of the Askrigg Harriers, the kennels he kept his pack of hounds in can still be seen behind the Pub centred in the publicly accessible Lodge Yard gardens.
The Pub was also used in the filming of the James Herriot’s original, All Creatures Great and Small, where it went by the name of The Drover’s Arms. Many pictures of the original cast can be found along the walls, as well as other historical pictures of the Pub.
The King’s Arms is a family run business, and our ethos here is to provide a relaxed atmosphere for either a dining, or drinking experience.
If you like what we do, tell the world!